Research Topics

Staffordshire University are pleased to invite applications for the PhD topics listed below. For queries about a specific project, please contact the named supervisor below.

These areas of interest demonstrate the breadth and diversity of the research our academics are undertaking. It is also possible for you to propose a topic, within the areas of expertise of our staff. Please review staff expertise by searching the university web site, and then get in touch initially with the member of staff you identify.

Please note there is no funding attached to these projects. They are suitable for self-funded students, or students with external funding.

For details of our funded PhD opportunities, please see this page.

 

School of Business, Leadership and Economics (BLE)

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS, MANAGEMENT AND MARKETING

School of Creative Arts and Engineering (CAE)

DEPARTMENT OF ENGINEERING

DEPARTMENT OF HUMANITIES AND PERFORMING ARTS

  • Tension Reduction and Nascent Peace Processes in Northern Ireland: The role of Non-State actors in ending terrorism with particular attention to the Northern Ireland Peace Process – Tony Craig (T.Craig@staffs.ac.uk)

School of Computing and Digital Technologies (CDT)

DEPARTMENT OF COMPUTING

  • Application of Cortical Learning Algorithms to Predictive Maintenance – Mohamed Sedky
  • Cross-domain attack and defenses for the Railway Industry: Cyber-Physical Systems Approach – Elhadj Benkhelifa (E.Benkhelifa@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Edge Computing Solutions for IOT Deployments – Elhadj Benkhelifa (E.Benkhelifa@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Measurement models for business intelligence – Clare Stanier (C.Stanier@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Physics-based and bioinspired video analytic hazard tracking for construction – Mohamed Sedky (M.H.Sedky@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Cognitive radio: next generation wireless networks for the internet of things – Mohamed Sedky (M.H.Sedky@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Real-Time Cyber Communication Threat Analysis – Justin Champion (J.J.Champion@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Adoption effectiveness of cloud ERP solutions in SMEs – Ucitha Jayawickrama (Uchitha.Jayawickrama@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Cost effective implementation of business intelligence using cloud computing – Mohammad Hasan (M.S.Hasan@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Security issues of internet of things (IOT) for smart home or campus or city to support physical and mental wellbeing – Mohammad Hasan (M.S.Hasan@staffs.ac.uk)
  • A tool to measure ERP post-implementation success and recommend further enhancements – Ucitha Jayawickrama (Uchitha.Jayawickrama@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The role of mobile Massive Open Online Courses in Higher Education – Jonathan Westlake (J.C.Westlake@staffs.ac.uk)

DEPARTMENT OF GAMES AND VISUAL EFFECTS

DEPARTMENT OF FILM, MEDIA AND JOURNALISM

School of Law, Policing and Forensics (LPF)

DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND FORENSICS

  • Multidisciplinary forensic detection of clandestine aquatic and terrestrial gravesites – John Cassella (J.P.Cassella@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Facilitating the dual recovery of DNA and friction ridge skin marks as forensic evidence – Sarah Fieldhouse (S.J.Fieldhouse@staffs.ac.uk)
  • A Holistic Approach to Evidence-Based Policing – Claire Gwinnett (C.Gwinnett@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Trace Retrieval, and Automated Characterisation and Evaluation (T.R.A.C.E) – Claire Gwinnett (C.Gwinnett@staffs.ac.uk)
  • An investigation into the use of cement as a means of disposing bodies on an international scale – Kirsty Squires (Kirsty.Squires@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Building resilient and Healthy Family Practices, Protecting Children and Reducing Crime: Identifying Support Needs and Early Interventions – A Multi-Agency Approach – Emma Temple-Malt (Emma.Temple-Malt@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Veterans, violence and violent sexual offences: Considering the role of forces life in the offending trajectory of convicted sexual offenders at HMP Stafford – James Treadwell (new member of staff commencing September 2017)
  • Angry, white and female? Counter Jihad and far right ideology, how does the new face of hate involve women and girls? – James Treadwell (new member of staff commencing September 2017)
  • Restoring Hope and Dignity: Maximising Dual Diagnosis Recovery and Reducing Stigma – Jo Turner (new member of staff commencing September 2017)
  • Optimisation of sample recovery techniques from the endocervical region in sexual offence cases and cervical smear examinations – Laura Walton-Williams (L.M.Walton@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Understanding the Journey of the Sexual Offence Victim – Laura Walton-Williams (L.M.Walton@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Development of NMR Techniques for Profiling Seized Drugs and Identification of New Designer Drugs – John Wheeler (J.W.Wheeler@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Comparative evaluation of mRNA, microRNA, and DNA Methylation analysis of body fluids – Graham Williams (Graham.Williams@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Exploring the stability of the epigenome in forensic sciences – Graham Williams (Graham.Williams@staffs.ac.uk)

DEPARTMENT OF LAW

  • Regulating for ILO Decent Work Standards and Best Practice in the Development and Operation of Legal Frameworks for National/Sectoral Flexible Working Schemes – Keith Puttick (K.A.Puttick@staffs.ac.uk)
  • An examination of the exercise of judicial discretion in the 20th century and the rise of the purposive approach to interpretation – Sean Curley (Sean.Curley@staffs.ac.uk)

School of Life Science and Education (LSE)

DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY

  • An exploration of the harms and benefits of videogame use in ADHD – Joanne Lloyd (Joanne.Lloyd@staffs.ac.uk)
  • How effective are appearance based interventions for weight management and what effect do appearance focussed interventions have on psychosocial outcomes? – Heather Semper (Heather.Semper@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The effect of product packaging characteristics on healthy food choices – Heather Semper (Heather.Semper@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The role of glucoregulation in inhibition and decision making: an EEG approach Jade Elliott (J.Elliott@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The impact of art culture in schools and homes on children’s drawing performance – Sarah Rose (S.E.Rose@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Evaluating the impact of an community based anti-poverty strategy on mental health and well-being – Peter Oakes (Peter.Oakes@staffs.ac.uk)

DEPARTMENT OF SPORT AND EXERCISE

  • The effects of irrational beliefs, cognitive appraisal, and meta-cognition, on the psychological distress of footballers: An epidemiological investigation – Martin Turner (M.Turner@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Befriending interventions to reduce primary care demand – Naomi Ellis (N.J.Ellis@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Biomechanical analysis of kicking techniques and skilled movements in Elite Youth Football: A dynamical systems approach – Robert Needham (R.Needham@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Improving the bone health of female athletes engaged in non-impact sports – Jacky Forsyth (J.J.Forsyth@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Menopausal Exercise and Diet for Osteoporosis Prevention [MEDOP] – Jacky Forsyth (J.J.Forsyth@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Regional tendon adaptations and mal-adaptations to mechanical loading – Panagiotis Chatzistergos (Panagiotis.Chatzistergos@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Objective assessment of Sacroiliac Joint pain (pelvis) during pregnancy – Aoife Healy (A.Healy@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Exploring the Characteristics of Psychological Resilience in Disability Footballers – Jamie Barker (J.B.Barker@staffs.ac.uk)

talk to us

Call 0800 169 2148 or email businessservices@staffs.ac.uk

Search for Expertise