While you are welcome to propose a PhD to study according to our areas of PhD expertise, we have set PhD projects designed by our experts which are ‘ready to go’ across several specialist areas.

If you are interested in discussing the projects further, before making an application, please complete our PhD enquiry form. When you are ready to apply, please follow the instructions on our How to apply page.

Please make sure your funding is in place, whether self-funded or funded externally. See our fees and funding pages or jobs.ac.uk for potential sources of PhD funding and bursaries.

School of Creative Arts and Engineering (CAE)

DEPARTMENT OF ENGINEERING

DEPARTMENT OF HUMANITIES AND PERFORMING ARTS

  • Tension Reduction and Nascent Peace Processes in Northern Ireland: The role of Non-State actors in ending terrorism with particular attention to the Northern Ireland Peace Process – Tony Craig (T.Craig@staffs.ac.uk)

School of Computing and Digital Technologies (CDT)

DEPARTMENT OF COMPUTING

  • Application of Cortical Learning Algorithms to Predictive Maintenance – Mohamed Sedky
  • Cross-domain attack and defenses for the Railway Industry: Cyber-Physical Systems Approach – Elhadj Benkhelifa (E.Benkhelifa@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Edge Computing Solutions for IOT Deployments – Elhadj Benkhelifa (E.Benkhelifa@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Measurement models for business intelligence – Clare Stanier (C.Stanier@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Physics-based and bioinspired video analytic hazard tracking for construction – Mohamed Sedky (M.H.Sedky@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Cognitive radio: next generation wireless networks for the internet of things – Mohamed Sedky (M.H.Sedky@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Real-Time Cyber Communication Threat Analysis – Justin Champion (J.J.Champion@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Adoption effectiveness of cloud ERP solutions in SMEs – Uchitha Jayawickrama (Uchitha.Jayawickrama@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Cost effective implementation of business intelligence using cloud computing – Mohammad Hasan (M.S.Hasan@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Security issues of internet of things (IOT) for smart home or campus or city to support physical and mental wellbeing – Mohammad Hasan (M.S.Hasan@staffs.ac.uk)
  • A tool to measure ERP post-implementation success and recommend further enhancements – Ucitha Jayawickrama (Uchitha.Jayawickrama@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The role of mobile Massive Open Online Courses in Higher Education – Jonathan Westlake (J.C.Westlake@staffs.ac.uk)

DEPARTMENT OF GAMES AND VISUAL EFFECTS

DEPARTMENT OF FILM, MEDIA AND JOURNALISM

  • Using acoustic instruments in an audio-visual context – Dr Dave Payling (d.payling@staffs.ac.uk )
  • Interaction and User Interface Software for Interactive Film and Live Brain-Computer Cinema Performance – Dr Polina Zioga (Polina.Zioga@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Performers and Audience Participation, Cognition and Emotional Engagement in Live Cinema and Performing Arts – Dr Polina Zioga (Polina.Zioga@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Hybrid Brain-Computer Interfaces and Eye-Gaze Tracking Systems for Artists with Disabilities – Dr Polina Zioga (Polina.Zioga@staffs.ac.uk)

School of Health and Social Care (HSC)

DEPARTMENT OF MIDWIFERY, ALLIED AND PUBLIC HEALTH

  • The role of spiritual/religious self-narratives in supporting the wellbeing of people with dementia and their carers – Dr Peter
    Kevern (p.kevern@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Developing protocols for secular spiritual care in
    healthcare chaplaincy – Dr Peter Kevern (p.kevern@staffs.ac.uk)

School of Law, Policing and Forensics (LPF)

DEPARTMENT OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND FORENSICS

  • Examining Child Sexual Exploitation in Staffordshire – Dr Lauren Metcalfe (lauren.metcalfe@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The Gendered experiences of Violence and Resistance in activist and anti-Neoliberal capitalist protest movements – Professor James Treadwell (james.treadwell@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Beaten up, banged up beaten down;  Trauma, violence, domestic abuse and coping in the lives of incarcerated women – Professor James Treadwell (james.treadwell@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Helping women ‘through the gate’ in England: the continuities and change in third sector provision for women released from prison – Dr Jo Turner (jo.turner@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Understanding Victim Reporting Trends in Sexual Offences – Dr Laura Walton-Williams (l.m.walton@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Evaluation and Development of Methodologies for the Measurement of Learning Gain in Undergraduate Science Degree Programmes – Dr John Wheeler (j.w.wheeler@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Crime scene based screening and identification of intimate body fluids – Dr Graham Williams (graham.williams@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Developing a robust interpretational method for clothing damage analysis – Dr Graham Williams (graham.williams@staffs.ac.uk)

School of Life Sciences and Education (LSE)

DEPARTMENT OF PSYCHOLOGY

  • How effective are appearance based interventions for weight management and what effect do appearance focussed interventions have on psychosocial outcomes? – Heather Semper (Heather.Semper@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The effect of product packaging characteristics on healthy food choices – Heather Semper (Heather.Semper@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The role of glucoregulation in inhibition and decision making: an EEG approach – Jade Elliott (J.Elliott@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The impact of art culture in schools and homes on children’s drawing performance – Sarah Rose (S.E.Rose@staffs.ac.uk)

DEPARTMENT OF SPORT AND EXERCISE

  • The effects of irrational beliefs, cognitive appraisal, and meta-cognition, on the psychological distress of footballers: An epidemiological investigation – Martin Turner (M.Turner@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Befriending interventions to reduce primary care demand – Naomi Ellis (N.J.Ellis@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Biomechanical analysis of kicking techniques and skilled movements in Elite Youth Football: A dynamical systems
    approach – Robert Needham (R.Needham@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Improving the bone health of female athletes engaged in non-impact sports – Jacky Forsyth (J.J.Forsyth@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Menopausal Exercise and Diet for Osteoporosis Prevention [MEDOP] – Jacky Forsyth (J.J.Forsyth@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Regional tendon adaptations and mal-adaptations to mechanical loading – Panagiotis Chatzistergos (Panagiotis.Chatzistergos@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Objective assessment of Sacroiliac Joint pain (pelvis) during pregnancy – Aoife Healy (A.Healy@staffs.ac.uk)

DEPARTMENT OF BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

  • Human Skin oil analysis using FTIR (Fourier-transform infrared spectroscopy) – Dave Skingsley (D.R.Skingsley@staffs.ac.uk
  • Impact of leaf wax on particulate matter accumulation – Kevin Reiling (K.Reiling@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Resuspension of particulate matter from surfaces with rainfall and/or windflow – Kevin Reiling (K.Reiling@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Biology tutors’ and students’ learning in higher education a sociocultural perspective using a communities of practice framework – Paul Orsmond (P.Orsmond@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The role of identity development in undergraduate biology students learning in higher education – Paul Orsmond (P.Orsmond@staffs.ac.uk)
  • Policy makers as learners.  An institutional approach to understanding learning in higher education: the role of communities of practice – Paul Orsmond (P.Orsmond@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The development of a wing morphometric tool for the species identification of mosquitoes from mixed genera and the quantification of its strengths and limitations – Rich Halfpenny
    (Richard.Halfpenny@staffs.ac.uk)
  • The role of transport proteins in bacterial pathogens – Arthur Hosie (arthur.hosie@staffs.ac.uk)
Enquire

talk to us

Call 01782 294966 or email researchservices@staffs.ac.uk

Search for Expertise