Newton Advanced Fellowships


Newton Advanced Fellowships is a new programme introduced in 2014 and provided under the Newton Fund, which is part of the UK’s Official Development Assistance (ODA) commitment.

Newton Advanced Fellowships provide early to mid-career international researchers who already have a track record with an opportunity to develop their research strengths and capabilities, and those of their group or network, through training, collaboration and visits with a partner in the UK.

The award enables international researchers based in a country covered by the Newton Fund to establish and develop collaborations with the UK with the intention of transferring knowledge and research capabilities.

The skills and knowledge gained should contribute to advancing economic development and social welfare of the partner country.


The aim of the Newton Advanced Fellowships is to:

  • Support the development of a well-trained research community who can contribute to advancing economic development and social welfare of the partner country by transferring new skills and creating new knowledge.
  • Strengthen research excellence in partner countries by supporting promising independent, early to mid-career researchers and their research groups and networks to develop their research through training, collaboration, reciprocal visits and the transfer of knowledge and skills from the UK.
  • Establish long-term links between the best research groups and networks in partner countries and the UK to ensure that improvements in research capacity are sustainable in the longer term.

Eligibility requirements

Applicants must have a PhD or equivalent research experience and hold a permanent or fixed-term contract in an eligible university or research institute in a partner country, which must span the duration of the project. Collaborations should focus on a single project involving the overseas-based researcher (“the Applicant”) and a UK-based researcher (“the Co-applicant”). Applicants should have not more than 15 years postdoctoral research experience.

The British Academy Newton Advanced Fellowships cover researchers working in all disciplines within the social sciences and humanities.

Applicants in the natural sciences and medical sciences (including clinical or patient-orientated research) should apply for a Newton Advanced Fellowship to the Royal Society and Academy of Medical Sciences.

For more details on eligibility please see the detailed scheme notes.

Note that some partner countries have specific eligibility requirements so please check the guidance carefully.

Newton Advanced Fellowships awarded by the British Academy are currently only available for researchers in the following countries:

  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Thailand
Please note that Newton Advanced Fellowships for Brazil, Turkey, and South Africa will reopen in January 2016.

Value and Duration

Fellowships are available for either one year or two years depending on the Newton Fund partner country. Each award provides funding for a salary top-up (only available for the overseas researcher), research support, travel and subsistence, and training. In some cases, additional support is available from match funders. Please refer to the scheme notes for the country from which you are applying for more details.

Application Process

Applications must be submitted online using the British Academy’s electronic Grant Application and Processing (eGAP) system. For the assessment criteria please see the detailed scheme notes.

  • Application deadline: 16 September 2015
  • Referee deadline: 24 September 2015
  • Decisions made: December 2015
  • Fellowships must start not later than 31 March 2016






0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes