Royal Academy of Engineering Research Chairs and Senior Research Fellowships

Over the past twenty years, the Academy’s Research Chairs (RC) / Senior Fellowships (SRF) scheme has successfully supported numerous academic appointments and enhanced internationally renowned centres of excellence. This scheme aims to strengthen the links between industry and academia by sponsoring leading academics to undertake research of industrial relevance and commercialise its outcomes and deliverables. Awardees are expected to establish or enhance a world leading engineering research group deliver ‘user-inspired’ research that meets the needs of their industrial partners publish the results of their research in high quality peer review journals become sustainable by the end of the award by securing substantial external grant income (RCUK, EU, industry, charities, etc). Applications are now open for UK universities to submit for collaborative research projects in any engineering discipline.

The scheme is currently accepting applications. The submission deadline is 4pm on Monday 2 February 2015.

Please note that there will be two application rounds each year.

See more at:

Eight new Royal Society Industry Fellowships connect academia and industry

The Royal Society has announced eight new fellowships aimed at strengthening links between academia and industry. The fellowships are awarded to academic scientists who want to work on a collaborative project with industry and for scientists in industry who want to work on a collaborative project with an academic organisation.

 The latest awardees’ project topics range from the pathology of neurodegenerative disease to mineral interface determination in shale hydration.

The scheme provides each scientist’s basic salary for the duration of their secondment, which lasts for up to two years full-time or four years part-time.

The full list of the latest Royal Society Industry Fellowships recipients is as follows:

Dr Hugh Greenwell from the University of Durham to work on Mineral Interface Determination During Shale Hydration with M-I SWACO.

Dr Atsufumi Hirohata from the University of York to work on the Development of an on-chip racetrack memory using exchange-biased pinning with Hitachi Cambridge laboratory.

Dr Hywel Jones from Sheffield Hallam University to work on Multi-Component Ceramic Composites for Engineering and Armour Applications with XeraCarb Ltd.

Dr Andreas Kranis from Aviagen to work on Capturing and Securing the Sequence Diversity of Broiler Chickens with the University of Edinburgh.

Professor Sankara Naryanan Ekkanath Madathil from the University of Sheffield to work on Systems Impact of Next Generation Power Semiconductors and Converter Technologies with Rolls-Royce.

Professor Yvan Petillot from Herriot-Watt University to work on Advanced autonomy in the subsea domain with SeeByte Ltd.

Professor Andrew Randall from the University of Exeter to work on In vivo, cell-level imaging of network dynamics and pathology in murine models of neurodegenerative disease with Lilly company UK.

Dr Michael Ries from the University of Leeds to work on Challenges in Green Solvent Cellulose Processing with Innovia Film Ltd.

This year is the Royal Society’s ‘Year of Science and Industry,’ which is supported by a number of events that showcase UK achievement in industrial science. Click here to find out more